I HAtE…

Isabel Lopez

301 Robinson Ave

Newburgh, NY 12550

October 9, 2023

Dear birthdays,

Okay to be honest I didn’t always hate you. I guess it just started happening over time. I mean I’m thankful for all of my earlier birthdays. The ones happily spent with family and friends. I appreciate those memories very much. Don’t get me wrong I am very grateful for each new year of life but as for the day in general…

I HATE YOU!

Each birthday ends in disappointment. I think birthdays are overrated and hyped. Every birthday I get so excited and end up getting my hopes up. I don’t mean to come off as a brat or ungrateful. It’s just that I always end up feeling down whenever my birthday comes around. It’s just not the same anymore.

I hate that you make me feel so uncomfortable on a day that is supposed to bring me joy. As much as I love and miss the memories I hate that they are gone and that I can no longer relive them. I hate that you switched up so fast and unexpectedly.

My birthday being three days away from Christmas doesn’t help either. I remember that even the good earlier birthdays were affected because I had to plan them according to the weather and when most people were available. I remember also getting scammed out of gifts since they were so close…

With built up hate,

Isabel

P.S. I hope you’re not as disappointing this year.

One response to “I HAtE…”

  1. Love the choice…this was a personable and complete post! What I’d like you doing is reading your work aloud before posting. Listen for the natural pauses…you will see, often, that there’s no punctuation where you’re pausing….e.g. first sentence.
    18/20

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started